Fishnhunt New Zealands main hunting and Fishing Forum. millions of posts on fishing and hunting, dogs, 4x4 vehicles, outdoors and much more Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic light bullets in a 308, has anyone tried this? (Read 2657 times)
poodle
Donor Member

meat is murder, tasty
tasty murder.

light bullets in a 308, has anyone tried this?
Apr 21st, 2019 at 2:20pm
Print Post  
I have a Baikal 308 with a 23.5" barrel and a 1:9.5 twist.
I am mainly going to be shooting goats I expect. I am just getting into seeing what ammo my rifle likes. It seems conventional wisdom is that it will favour heaver 165-190gr bullets.
Despite this I am curious if someone has tried using the 110-130 v-max bullets or similar in a 308. I figure that even a small bullet like a 110gr is still twice as large as a .223 and I have more than one mate who knock over everything in NZ with a 223. I figure it would be a pretty flat shooting bullet.

Is it doable or just a dumb idea?

IP Logged

leathel
Forum Font

Hunting / Fishing, Its
all good!!

Re: light bullets in a 308, has anyone tried this?
Reply #1 - Apr 21st, 2019 at 3:45pm
Print Post  
they go quick for a wee while then fall out of the sky as the are as stream lined as a brick.....

IP Logged

headcase
Global Forum Guide
Donor Member

Former Youngest Person
in the World

Reply #2 - Apr 21st, 2019 at 6:37pm
Print Post  
Presume your shooting them in open country at close to moderate ranges and dont really read what your goals are. Control of goats, long range, or just having fun on whatever pops up ?

You might need a lot of bullets, so unless someone else is paying for them.. or you dont care and are just doing it for fun , a .223 or .243 is still just as effective at ranges out to a 2-300  meters.  A couple of 10 shot mags on a .223 will shoot more goats than a lesser mag sized rifle in .308.