Fishnhunt New Zealands main hunting and Fishing Forum. millions of posts on fishing and hunting, dogs, 4x4 vehicles, outdoors and much more Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 30 Replies) T3 .223 Load development (Read 2699 times)
samiam
Just Joined

New Zealand's Hunting
and Fishing Forum

T3 .223 Load development
Mar 29th, 2019 at 10:17pm
Print Post  
I am brand new to reloading and would like to learn from some others experience, what worked for you and what did not.

I have a Tikka T3 .223
480mm barrel length or 18 inch, plus a suppressor.
1 in 12 twist (I know I would be better off with a 1 in 8 barrel but at the time I purchased the rifle I was ignorant to twist)

I want to develop a load I  can use on red deer under 100 meters. I have taken a number of hinds shooting 55 gr soft point H&F  branded ammo. But am unsure of using on larger stags. I have trialed 64 gr winchester, powerpoint on paper but the groups were average, at the very best.

I am thinking
round - 55 gr will attempt  a 60 gr (unsure if it will stabilize and what modelI should use as there is alot on the market)
powder - 4208h

what worked for you?????????

IP Logged

JaSa

Know your (rifles) limits

Re: T3 .223 Load development
Reply #1 - Mar 30th, 2019 at 4:13pm
Print Post  
Try the Barnes TTSX or TSX in 50gr with a 1:12 twist. Pretty deadly on deer and punching right through with wide exit wounds. Shot a hind yesterday in tight bush on the way out from 20m and as always it amazes me how good they perform. The 4 petals act like rotating knifes crushing and cutting everything in their way plus have a good shockwave when fast that knocks them out. That's why they work best with speed so ideally go light bullet and in your and my case with our .223's don't go much further then 150m to ensure they fully expand and do what they are designed to do.

So far 100% success on red and fallow stags with the TTSX