Fishnhunt New Zealands main hunting and Fishing Forum. millions of posts on fishing and hunting, dogs, 4x4 vehicles, outdoors and much more Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Range Finder or Glass. Which first? (Read 1024 times)
CarbonSpyder
Just Joined

New Zealand's Hunting
and Fishing Forum

Range Finder or Glass. Which first?
Apr 2nd, 2018 at 6:37pm
Print Post  
Hey everyone just getting started on the Forum.

I started shooting archery with my grandfather from about 11 years old until about 16. Shot both compound and traditional. I had the urge to shoot again after seeing some videos on YouTube and thought I'd pick up a bow again at 25 with the intent to hunt.

Flash forward a few months I have picked up a bow and kit from a hunter going back to rifle. Bow, good release, plenty of arrows, fixed and mechanical heads and I am damaging arrows on each other at 20yrds and grouping hand size at about 30yrds.

I am in Auckland and wanting to go after my first Goat on doc land here or in the Waikato area.

My question is would it be better to go for good binoculars or a good range finder first for a bow hunter. Which would you rather have? Cheers

IP Logged

Bowunter

Shoot to thrill

Re: Range Finder or Glass. Which first?
Reply #1 - Apr 3rd, 2018 at 6:18pm
Print Post  
probably good binos more important for a bow hunter, any half decent range finder will give you an accurate reading within bow range

IP Logged

Radar
Forum Font

Armed Tramper 😈

Reply #2 - Apr 3rd, 2018 at 6:26pm
Print Post  
For me personally with the set up Iíve got I can shoot out to 50M if I want to so the rangefinder is my go to first.
Personally Iíd take time to think how far you want to shoot safely (to ensure a quick accurate kill) I have a mate who is capable and accurate out to 70M with his set up.
Itís Personal.

Fate whispers to the warrior
'you cannot withstand the storm',
And the warrior whispers back
' I am the storm'
Toys