Fishnhunt New Zealands main hunting and Fishing Forum. millions of posts on fishing and hunting, dogs, 4x4 vehicles, outdoors and much more Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Kayak Fishing? (Read 1361 times)
ex-rabbithunter
Donor Member

Kayak Fishing?
Feb 25th, 2017 at 5:25pm
Print Post  
Who else fishes Fresh and Salt water from a Kayak?

Any advice?

I'm new to it, havent been in a Kayak in years, so will start on South Canty lakes on good days, and maybe after time will head out into the sea.

"the only good Wallaby is a dead one"

IP Logged

Huntsouth
Forum Font

I Love The FishNhunt Forum

Re: Kayak Fishing?
Reply #1 - Feb 25th, 2017 at 7:25pm
Print Post  
I currently use a 3.1 metre sit on kayak designed for fishing. Weighs about 24-25 kg. Mainly used for trout fishing in the Canterbury lakes and occasionally up at Kaikoura sea fishing. The choice of type is huge, so many different configurations but the sit on kayak is very popular nowadays - they are generally wider than the sit in types, which makes them more stable. But expect to get a bit wet as you are more exposed to the elements. I sometimes wear leggings. I also find i can load up the sit on type, including my hunting pack & tent for overnight trips or take a dry bag. My kayak is an Aussie import complete with many fishing accessories, NZ made obviously good quality but you pay alot more for them and they don't come with many accessories - you have to pay more again (a few want extra $$ for the seat - tight buggers) Check out TM for second hand. Smiley

IP Logged

meathunter72
Donor Member

Reply #2 - Feb 25th, 2017 at 10:06pm
Print Post