Fishnhunt New Zealands main hunting and Fishing Forum. millions of posts on fishing and hunting, dogs, 4x4 vehicles, outdoors and much more Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Sticky Topic How to help SAR find you if you are lost (Read 28723 times)
Vapour
Forum Senior

How to help SAR find you if you are lost
Nov 11th, 2010 at 3:37pm
Print Post  
I read on here a couple years ago some suggestions of what to do if you get lost.  Feel free to add/correct me on anything I've written here. This will likely become a Information Resource of some sort. I am fairly new to SAR but thought some of the younger new hunters might like to know how SAR operate so as to be found quicker.

here goes:

Pre Planning
Tell someone where you are going, when and how long you will be.  Leave a map if you can.  Leave a “if not out by this time call the police” time frame.  Let them know what you have, who you are going with/flying with etc
Also keep photos of your gear and especially your boot tread pattern.  You partner/mate can give this to SAR so they know what colour/gear they are looking for.  Include, pack, food, vechicle, clothing, rifle – whatever
(Survival gear and proficiency of GPS/Map reading will not be covered here – This will be assumed otherwise you wouldn’t be in the bush in the first place Wink)

Lost
When you realise someone will be/should be looking for you, what do you do then?  
Stay calm and don’t make decisions in a panic/distressed state.  Rest if you need to, conserver food and energy, keep warm.
IF you decide to walk yourself out and are able to, leave LOTS of sign, step in the mud holes and sand, don’t walk around them.  Break ferns and leave a good trail, the easier to follow the better.
If you find a track/Hut stay there, SAR will monitor these regularly and check them first.