Fishnhunt New Zealands main hunting and Fishing Forum. millions of posts on fishing and hunting, dogs, 4x4 vehicles, outdoors and much more Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 2 [3]  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 30 Replies) Sighting in your .22lr (Read 46435 times)
Maverick2
Just Joined

New Zealand's Hunting
and Fishing Forum

Re: Sighting in your .22lr
Reply #30 - Apr 23rd, 2020 at 4:31pm
Print Post  
This is great info - thanks. I'm new to this so I've got a couple of options to try. Smiley

IP Logged

bufferzone
Donor Member

I Love The FishNhunt Forum

Reply #31 - Apr 24th, 2020 at 8:11am
Print Post  
yes, great stuff

IP Logged

headcase
Global Forum Guide
Donor Member

Former Youngest Person
in the World

Reply #32 - Apr 27th, 2020 at 11:02am
Print Post  
Following up on the actual sighting in this is how I head shoot rabbits with Winchester Subsonics with the POI shot in at 50 meters.   Assuming its a reasonable size rabbit use the rabbit to put your cross hairs in the right spot to from 0 to 60 meters, and a bit beyond. Your having to guess the distance but if the rabbits are bout same size, half to full grow, you will get pretty good at it.. off a rest is best.

“We either make ourselves miserable, or we make ourselves strong. The amount of work is the same.”
IP Logged

SF90
Donor Member

Reply #33 - Apr 27th, 2020 at 11:23am
Print Post  

Just wondering which Winchester subs you use - I have a brick of the 40grs and I can't get better than 1 1/2" at fifty yards out of either of my BRNO's.
I measured them with a micrometer and they're quite a bit undersize - about .220" and I wondered if the low velocity wasn't bumping them into the bore.
Otherwise - terminal performance is pretty good.

Have got another brick of the old 40gr supersonic Winchester Rabbit Ammo which measures the same, but they do shoot better .......... bit noisy for where I'm shooting though.

IP Logged

headcase
Global Forum Guide
Donor Member